Dry rot common?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dry rot common?

Hi all, heard a few people around my local marina talk about dry rot, is it something bayliners are subjected to easy? I have a 1999 3055,
    everything seems ok? I’m a newbie as you probably all can tell by now :-)

Soft wood aka dry rot is common to any wood that gets near fresh water. Houses have the same problem. Ever heard about a major bathroom rebuild because of a water leak?
    With fiberglass boats, any brand, wherever there is wood reinforcement there is an opportunity for rot. If fasteners and penetrations are properly bedded in the appropriate compound, there isn’t an issue as long as the bedding is inspected and replaced when needed. If fresh water is allowed to wick down along any unprotected penetration and sits, rot will start. The classic situation is that the factory will do everything correctly then the selling dealer will add an option like a depth finder transducer and the tech will do a poor job of sealing the fasteners or through hull. Possibly because of little or no training, certainly no knowledge of why bedding is important or just plain laziness. Owners are worse. Most really don’t understand why it is important.
    Yes, it’s messy. You know those Clorox wipes? They clean it right up, except the part on your clothes. Don’t ask why would know that.
    I’m guessing you had a marine survey done as part of your purchase process. If not, have a condition and valuation survey done then you can go shopping for Yacht Insurance which is an agreed value type where the value of a total loss is set at the time the policy is issued. If your agent doesn’t offer a competitive rate, coverage can be coordinated. I found by doing a bit of shopping that I could get more bang for my buck by going to an agency that focused on boats and yachts.
    P/C Pete
    Edmonds Yacht Club (Commodore 1993)
    1988 3818 "GLAUBEN
    Hino EH700 175 Onan MDKD Genset