Is it rude to ask your guests to wipe their feet? Really?-gctid812353

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it rude to ask your guests to wipe their feet? Really?-gctid812353

So I just spent most of my free time for the past week cleaning my boat trying to get it ready for the season. Yes it is an older boat but I want people to wipe their feet on a damp towel before coming aboard. Is that to much to ask? The deck is white it is a pain to clean and it shows everything. JUST wipe your feet prior to coming on deck. Is this crazy, am I over reacting?

Your boat, you are the captain, your rules. Wiping feet could be encouraged with a nice, big 'Welcome Aboard' mat.
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

Comment

It is not completely unreasonable but realize that your decks are going to show foot prints no matter what.
      1999 Sandpiper Pilothouse - Current
      1989 3888 - 2011-2019, 1985 Contessa - 2005-2011, 1986 21' Trophy 1998-2005
      Nobody gets out alive.

Comment

Id think boat owners would not/should not be offended, non boat owners likely don't realize how quickly a boat can become marked up with chit off their shoes. My boats an older not so shinny one, I still want to minimize the tracking of shoe debris everywhere.
        Dave
        Edmonds, WA
        "THE FIX"
        '93 2556
        Carbureted 383 Vortec-Bravo II 2.0:1 18 1/4x19 P

The rebuild of my 2556 https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...76?view=thread
        Misc. projects thread
        https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...56-gctid789773

Comment