Portable Generator

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Portable Generator

Hi all. Being a newbie I have only been on short day trips around our lake but am planning on spending a few nights on board. I have bought a small portable generator which I intend fitting on the swim platform for when I am moored up on the lake to run the tv and lights. Am I right in assuming I can plug the generator with the correct lead into the shoreline power socket on the boat?
    Mel & Pauline Martin
    Scottish Borders U.K
    Bayliner 2455 Ciera Sunbridge "Sweet Pea"
    Kielder Yacht Club
    Kielder Northumberland

Yes. You'll need an adapter to plug the the shore power into the gen. What size gen are thinking of getting? I have a 2000 watt Champion inverter that works well and didn't break the bank. It will run the microwave which is nice.
    "Martini's Law"
    1986 Bayliner 3270, 110 Hino's
    Nova Scotia, Canada

Comment

It's just a small 1,000 watt but it's only to run the tv and lights when I'm moored on the lake.
      Mel & Pauline Martin
      Scottish Borders U.K
      Bayliner 2455 Ciera Sunbridge "Sweet Pea"
      Kielder Yacht Club
      Kielder Northumberland

Comment

If you are new to portable gensets and/or this type of boating please be very careful of electrocution and Co emissions.

With portables either is possible and in fresh water these electrical issues are very real and very dangerous.

Happy boating
        Northport NY

Comment

"melmartin" post=810114 wrote:
          It's just a small 1,000 watt but it's only to run the tv and lights when I'm moored on the lake.
          We also power our battery charger with our 1000 watt generator.

This is what we use with a short, outdoor extension cord.https://www.westmarine.com/buy/marin...30 Amp adapter
          Simo
          2002 2855 350MPI Bravo III on Lake Champlain

Comment