Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Typical Marine Mechanic Rates.-gctid803179

Good morning all,

I am new to boating but I understand the typical Marine Mechanic charges about $90.00 an hour. My question is in regard to replacing a bilge pump. I have been quoted $135.00 labor (1.5 hrs) to replace an easily accessible bilge pump in the engine room. The replacement pump will use the same footprint. Is this a fair rate?

The reason for my question is when I look at this job it looks like it should take 20 minutes or so to replace -( a couple of screws to remove and a few wires). I also plan on using a Marine Mechanic from time to time and I need to know if this Mechanic is overcharging.

Thank you for any insight you can offer. - Paul

Paul, not discounting the professional technicians but the job you describe is so darn simple. Have you given thought to doing it yourself? Save the technicians, and the associated expense for the tough jobs. As to why it's so expensive , the tech must travel to your boat to asses the job and what he needs. Then he's got to chase down parts and make a second trip to your boat to r and r the old pump. Depending on location he's probably got one to two hours of travel time alone for a fifteen minute job.
    Jim Gandee
    1989 3888
    Hino 175's
    Fire Escape
    [email protected]
    Alamitos Bay, SoCal

Comment

Not that simple

The fellow has to guaranty his work and he has to have insurance in case that bilge pump burns the boat down

Also travel time

It not like you were doing it as a labor of love-- he has to make a living.

Comment