Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AIS Tracking System-gctid795437

"Old Man With A Boat" post=795433 wrote:
    Does anyone here use a ATS marine tracking system. If so, tell us about it. Where did you get it and so on. I read about people saying that when they were crossing to the Islands from Florida they were called on the vhf from other boats by there name because it showed up on the ATS.
    I believe you mean AIS - Automatic Identification System. There are lots of videos on YouTube explaining how it works.
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

https://www.dhs.gov/publication/auto...tem-ats-update
    Esteban
    Detroit, MI
    Former Bayliners 3218, 2859, 2252, 1952

Comment

I do not have a transmitter, but I do use the free app called findship.
      Joel
      1987 3818 Hino 175
      "Knotty Girl"
      Prince Rupert B.C.

Comment

I did mean AIS
        Just love being on my 3870............Bill
        1985 3870
        Twin 130 Mits. not turbo charged
        Name of boat is "Plenty Of Fish"
        Live on board full time.
        North Myrtle Beach, SC

Comment

Not sure if you have played with any of the AIS stuff before, Bill, but here are a couple links to check stuff out.

https://www.vesselfinder.com/ works from a pc.

http://www.findship.co/ is an android or apple app. This is what we use when cruising.
          Joel
          1987 3818 Hino 175
          "Knotty Girl"
          Prince Rupert B.C.

Comment