Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just bought a 1983 Bayliner 2450 Ciera Command Bridge-gctid394445

Hello Everyone.

I'm a newbie here, but I just wanted to say hello, and ask a few questions.

My wife was bugging me to find a "kid friendly" boat, so I went looking around and found a 1983 Bayliner Command Bridge.

The boat is great, we took it out for a sea test, and it ran awesome. The interior is like new, and it is beautiful outside. It has a 5.7l 350 220HP, with Volvo penta outdrive. It's just shy of 800 hours, and the person I bought it from told me that he was the 2nd owner, and it was meticulously maintained.

I noticed when I went out for the sea trial it had good pickup, and planed out quick, but, only if you had the trim tabs down. Otherwise it took while for it to get the nose down. Is this normal for this type of boat? Is that a sign of a tired engine? I'm not sure what size prop it has, but if you guys have any recommendation I can go check that out.

I'm just curious. I paid 3500.00, so I don't mind dropping a couple thousand on a crate engine and throwing it in there myself. But I thought I'd ask some other Bayliner owners if this is normal before I did that.

Thanks for any support you guys can offer!

Welcome to BOC.

As far as getting her up on plane, you want to use your tabs to push the bow down as quickly as possible, then adjust them once up to reduce the wetted surface (drag). It is very nornal for a boat that size to take longer to get up on plane when not using the tabs.

As far as prop size, if the engine is in tune, the hull clean and you are reaching max RPM's at WOT then the boat has the correct prop on it.

Enjoy the new boat.

And of this is your new boat, take a boaters ed. class.
    Phil, Vicky, Ashleigh & Sydney
    1998 3055 Ciera
    (yes, a 1998)
    Previous boat: 1993 3055
    Dream boat: 70' Azimut or Astondoa 72
    Sea Doo XP
    Sea Doo GTI SE
    Life is short. Boats are cool.