Diesel Smoke Causes Cancer-gctid393245

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Diesel Smoke Causes Cancer-gctid393245

Read this just today, not exactly great news for us boaters who use diesel, especially the older sooty ones. http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-504763_1...nd-hand-smoke/
    Cheers, Hans
    2007 Carver 41 CMY
    Twin Volvo D6-370
    Montreal, Canada
    Midnight Sun I Photos

Everything causes cancer.

Comment

I worked in the heavy engine industry as a Maintenance and Engineering Fleet Manager for years. The soot is the main issue and you would dam near have to wrap your mouth around the exhaust to have a problem. New diesels are pretty clean and the water through the exhaust washes the rest down so little is airborne.

Comment

green650 wrote:
        Everything causes cancer.
        Agreed.

Comment

This makes me even happier to be repowering with a Perkins 4.108 Diesel. The WHO could bite me, lol!

Comment

Ii love it! Gasoline engines may blow up. Diesil engines cause cancer. You're damed if you do damed if you don't lol

Comment

Gas = instant death no pain

Diesel = Slow agonizing painful death

Cheers, Hans
              2007 Carver 41 CMY
              Twin Volvo D6-370
              Montreal, Canada
              Midnight Sun I Photos

Comment

Cancer therapy causes cancer.

Comment

I'm sure this has nothing to do with the global effort to push global warming "green" initiatives ...

Comment

life is a terminal disease, no one gets out alive, don't sweat the petty things, don't pet the sweaty things...

Comment

This has been an issue in the fire service for years, we live inside the station that we keep our diesel engines. Every time we go out it fills up our living area. For the last 15 years they have been addressing the issue with exhaust systems. We have a 7 times greater chance of getting most cancers then the rest of the population.

The other problem is the benzine in the smoke causes hearing loss.

Good times huh?