Over the air TV in San Juan-Gulf Islands?-gctid391326

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Over the air TV in San Juan-Gulf Islands?-gctid391326

We will be spending six weeks or so in the San Juan-Gulf Islands in the PNW this summer. And as this is an Olympic year and I enjoy watching certain Olympic events I am wondering if I can receive them over the air (not interested in going the satellite route) in that area.

If this is a possibility I would like to know what TV antennae, amplifier (?) and 20' LCD digital TV would work for me up there. I would like to hear from people who have over the air TV systems on their boats and especially those who have experience with them in the San Juan-Gulf Island area.

Thanks much

Greg

http://transition.fcc.gov/mb/engineering/maps/
    Tally and Vicki
    "Wickus" Meridian 341
    MMSI 338014939

Comment

I am no expert but I think unless you have a very long cable hook up at sea it's satellite only! At the Marina may be a different story if they are sending out an analog signal for marina users or possibly over the internet??

Comment

The above post shows 2 independant station (no network afilliation)

However, to answer your questions about general TV reception, read my post below. I was a TV antenna design engineer. The post should help you.

http://www.baylinerownersclub.org/fo...ne-TV-antennas
        Captharv 2001 2452
        "When the draft of your boat exceeds the depth of water, you are aground"

Comment

If in the Gulf Islands, you'll be able to get 2 CTV channels as well as CBC. As you may or may not know, CBC usually has pretty intense Olympics coverage.

Another thing you can do is sign up for short term BroadbandXpress, and watch stuff on a laptop.

Check it out here. http://bbxpress.net/
          Mike P
          The Bahamas
          Formerly Vancouver BC, Bermuda and The Grenadine Islands.

Click here to hear my original music, FREE to download to your computer or iPod.

Comment