New Owner Question, 1st Boat Ever-gctid389562

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Owner Question, 1st Boat Ever-gctid389562

First off I am new to boating. Never owned one, only been in a few and driven even less (we all start somewhere). I have always wanted a boat but never wanted the expense, until I came across a guy in need for money so I feel I got it pretty cheap. It has been winterized since 2010Its a 1989 Bayliner Capri 2.3 inboardI don't know a lot about boats but I am very mechanical.My question is I cannot figure out what these two plugs are for, I can feel some type of tank behind it when I reach in I can also feel the shift cable going into the tank. The manual is not very clear on where it is pointing in the diagrams but I think it may be a water drain. However, I am taking it out Saturday for the 1st time and I want to make sure its all right and has all the fluids it needs.

[img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/693120=28461-qUESTION.jpg[/img]Here is the whole boat, it needs a little cosmetic work, I wanted to get it running and in the water before spending anything on the looks. The looks are the easy part lol.

[img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/693120=28460-Boat.jpg[/img]

The older OMC "Devil Drive" (aka "Stringer drive") had an upper gearcase that could be filled and drained with oil through plugs in this location. As yours is a newer model, these may do something similar.
    2007 Discovery 246
    300mpi BIII
    Welcome island Lake Superior

Comment

:wel-

Congrats on your first boat! I hope that it serves you well and that you have a BLAST in it!

be smart, be safe, HAVE FUN

enjoy the site,,,,,lotsa smart guys here!

Sarah

Comment

706jim wrote:
        The older OMC "Devil Drive" (aka "Stringer drive") had an upper gearcase that could be filled and drained with oil through plugs in this location. As yours is a newer model, these may do something similar.
        So I need to fill with gear oil?

Thanks for the reply