2359 Power-gctid377806

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2359 Power-gctid377806

Hi, I am a fairly new owner of a 2359, with the Alaska cabin on top. I have a question for those of you experienced with the 2359 and what she is capable of in terms of planing and how much load you can comfortably haul.

I have a 305 Mercruiser.

We were headed out for a trip, loaded up with 4 adults, two big coolers and a nuch of gear for a two night trip. We were unable o get up on leg. The motor did not have enough power to pull the boat up out of the water. We unloaded the coolers and all the gear (well most of it) and we were still unable to get up on leg. Downsizing to two people no gear was sucessful. Now I am not a mechanic, but it sounded to me like the engine was missing. We did have a shop tune up the engine one month prior so I am skeptical of my diagnosis.

But for those of you running a 2359, and especially any with the alaska cabin, what has your experience been like. I know that given enough weight the boat will not get up on leg, but is four people the line?

I'd appreciate any input from other 2359 owners.

I had a 2002 2359 with the 5.0 MPI/Bravo 3 drive, and had no trouble getting on plane. Our normal load was 3 guys (about 200# each) fishboxes full of ice, a large cooler full of ice on the swim platform, fishing gear and food/drinks up forward.

Of note- I found a 2nd fuel filter that was totally clogged- open the access panel in the deck forward of the doghouse (where the batteries are), and look forward under the deck. I found a GM style inline fuel filter there that was original equipment since 2002 (this was in 2008)- that filter left me stranded 30 miles out to sea..... :livid:

Comment

Also, where are you located at? Always helps to put your vessel info and location in your sig.... thanks!

Comment