Mechanic rip-offs-gctid375618

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mechanic rip-offs-gctid375618

We have had a few "My mechanic ripped me off" threads lately. Maybe I can help some of you to minimize this happening.

I was a shop manager for 2 way radio repair. We were a manufacturers service station, but not a franchize. The parent coperation gave us some guidelines in how to treat customers.

Heres some things you can do when brining your boat in for service.

1. Whatever you want done should be in writing signed by you and the service representative.

And you sould be given a copy, or have them put it thru the copier.

2. Be specific. "Boat to be winterized", "needs yearly service" etc

3. Any diagnosis and subsequent "quotes" should be in writing.

4. You have the right to get beack the "bad" parts. If they say they have to send it in for a "core charge" then insist in seeing it before they send it in.

5.If they call you on the phone with "we got the eninge apart and discovered XXXX wrong, drive down there before authorizing the work.

6. This is a biggie: Get a manual for the engine. Clymer, selock, and others sell reasonably priced manuals. Look up whatever they are telling you is bad. Make an informed decision.

7. If theres anythin the mechanic does or says which lights off your B.S. alarm, maybe get a second opinion.

8. Realize how they are paid. They usually get a portion of the labor charges and a commission on parts, like the auto dealers. Therefore there is a protensity to "sell" services, some of which are not necessary. One has to weed out the nessary services from the sales pitch..... Example: Wife brought her civic in for tires. The mechanic said "the car needs new rear brakes because there is a lot of brake dust in it" Without even pulling a wheel. I pulled a wheel and the shoes were only 1/2 worn.