Boating to Olympia-gctid372729

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boating to Olympia-gctid372729

Hi. I'm fairly new to boating in Puget Sound and was planning a trip from Dagmar's Marina in Everett to Olympia. Any suggestions for the route or marinas? I've been to Gig Harbor but no further south. Thanks in advance for the tips

Fred, pick a nice day and enjoy the ride. Take your pick for a route, they all have something to offer. We like to make sure we cruise with the tides especially thru the Narrows. Any moorage anywhere in the South Sound for the most part is first come first served and so be prepared to put down your anchor. (when the weather is nice particularly) Most I would say don't have any power. Even Olympia I believe has taken their power away from the docks. Best fuel price is DesMoines. We're doing Gig Harbor this weekend...

Chris

Comment

Its a great weekend trip. Lots to see.

Be aware the are alot of no wake zones close to shore and they can sneak up on you and people vet really mad. Don't ask me how I know.

There are also some areas of shallow water so pay attention to the charts and depth finder especially if you head up toward nisqually flats. You can only enter there on high tide and you better be out of there before the tide goes out. Once again don't ask me how I know.
      1989 Avanti 3450 Sunbridge
      twin 454's
      MV Mar-Y-Sol
      1979 Bayliner Conquest 3150 hardtop ocean express.
      Twin chevy 350's inboard
      Ben- Jamin
      spokane Washington

Comment

yachtman wrote:

...There are also some areas of shallow water so pay attention to the charts and depth finder especially if you head up toward nisqually flats. You can only enter there on high tide and you better be out of there before the tide goes out. Once again don't ask me how I know.