Columbia River Anchors-gctid372156

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Columbia River Anchors-gctid372156

Hello all, first let me say thanks for this wonderful forum. It's refreshing to stumble across a place where Bayliner owners can ask questions, disseminate information, and swap stories without having to wade through a mountain of "Well your problem is that you bought a Bayliner"-type replies. I have been soaking up information like a sponge for the last couple of weeks. Just awesome.

I'm new to boating (bought my '90 2651 last year), but I'm learning. I spent about 60 days last season boating the Columbia River between the Hanford Reach and Wallula Gap and learned a lot about boat handling. One thing still scares the hell out of me though: anchoring in the Columbia. Last season I tried three different anchor styles and two different configurations, but I never successfully retrieved an anchor. I was most confident when I deployed the Columbia River anchor rig (uses a marker buoy and locking slide to pull the anchor up), but even that one hung so hard on the bottom I was worried that I was going to pull the pulpit out of the bow (not to mention that all of the chain, rigging, buoy, and massively heavy rocking chair anchor made for a mess up on the bow). To make matters worse, I have emphysema and asthma, so anchoring without a crewmember is pretty much out of the question for me. My plan this year is to install an electric, remote controlled anchor windlass, but after leaving at least $400 worth of gear on the bottom last season, I want to get the right type of anchor. So I guess I said all of that to ask this: what type of anchor do you recommend for the Columbia?

:wel-

Hi there, and Welcome!

Lotsa smart people here to help you. And they will.

My only suggestion is have you asked your local marinas & boaters what they're using?

Anyway, someone will have more concise info for you.

Best of luck,,,,,and Welcome

Enjoy the site,,,