30A service questions-gctid569632

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

30A service questions-gctid569632

I'll start this by stating the obvious, I'm not an electrician.

How does the 30A shorepower cord that plugs into my boat compare to my house current of 110V? Yeah, I know I'm comparing two different units of electrical measurements.

I see 30A and 50A service at some marinas, yet both convert to what I would call house current when the boat is plugged in.

I'm confused :unsure:

Thanks.
    Bob
    "Easy Living"
    2007 Discovery 246, 5.0L MPI, CC, B3
    Boating on the Rappahannock River, Virginia

I am not an electrician either, but here goes.

Your shore power and house receptacles are both 110v. Your house will just have usually at least 100 amp service. Your house will be able to able to run more things at the same time.

For instance a 1500 watt 110v electric heater will draw 12.5 amps from the source(shore power cable, house breaker box), so if you have two heaters turned on in your boat, (25amps) you are almost at the capacity of what the plugs,cable and breakers can handle.

In your house two heaters would only be a quarter of what everything can handle.

I am sure an electrician on here can explain it a little better. B)
    Joel
    1987 3818 Hino 175
    "Knotty Girl"
    Prince Rupert B.C.

Comment

Voltage and current are two different things. Voltage MUST always be matched, period! Your home has 120v outlets in most places, except the stove and dryer, which are 240v (if they are electric). There are other things that might be 240 but those are the big ones.

Current (amps) can be mismatched, as long as the supply side is greater than the load being put on it. So you could plug your boat into a 120v, 5 million amp outlet and be fine.

Marinas normally come in four flavors:

120v 15a or 20a with a standard household plug (uncommon)

120v 30a with an L5-30R twist-lock receptacle ready for the most common boat cable, L5-30P.