Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello new boat owner.

Hello folks,
    I'm new to boating. Just joined this forum haven't had a chance to take the boat out yet. Bought at Houston boat show,, Bayliner VR4.
    Looking forward to take her out!

Welcome aboard! Hope you enjoy and make the most of your new boat!
    Jim Gandee
    1989 3888
    Hino 175's
    Fire Escape
    [email protected]

Comment

• Timothy B.
      Timothy B. commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks

Welcome to the club!
    Dave
    Edmonds, WA
    "THE FIX"
    '93 2556 5.7 Bravo II 2.0:1 18 1/4x19 P
    (.030 over-Vortec top end-part closed cooled)
    The rebuild of my 2556 https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...76?view=thread
    Misc. projects thread
    https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...56-gctid789773

Comment

• Timothy B.
      Timothy B. commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you

Welcome. Before you take your new boat out, take some classes starting with safety. If you have a regular crew, they should take it too. The first time you take it out, have someone knowledgeable go with you and another boat in case there’s a problem. It happens. A friend of mine had the vertical drive shaft on his 280 Volvo snap during the delivery. Luckily they were at the dock when it happened.
    Explain how you intend to untie and depart from the dock or beach and instruct your crew on what they are supposed to do. Same thing returning. Some of the things are going to be “like, duh...” but it beats putting a nice big gash in your, or someone else’s boat. Oh, and, a designated skipper. A capable designated skipper.
    Your sales person should be able to point you in the direction of some classes. Don’t let him or her downplay it. Check out some boat ramp fails on YouTube.
    P/C Pete
    Edmonds Yacht Club (Commodore 1993)
    1988 3818 "GLAUBEN”
    Hino EH700 175 Onan MDKD Genset
    MMSI 367770440

Comment

• Timothy B.
      Timothy B. commented