Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

'88 Capri 1750 ignition relay, resettable fuse or solenoid?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'88 Capri 1750 ignition relay, resettable fuse or solenoid?

Hello everyone. I'm new to this form. Been having a strange issue and wanted to ask the group. I installed a battery cutoff on the negative side of the battery. It has a key for on/off. I've owned this boat since new and recently when I turn the battery switch on then the blower and let if run a little then ignition to on the lights come on and fan blows. But when I then move the key to start, everything goes dark. If I switch the battery cutoff to off and back on, fan goes back on and I can try to start it again. I don't believe there is any electronics in the battery cutoff and it is a heavy duty switch designed to take the load. Is there some sort of resettable protection fuse somewhere else in the wiring? Sometimes I need to do this 3 or 4 times before I finally get the motor to turn over. This started last season and seems to be getting worse. Anyone have this happen? Is there a simple fix? Thanks in advance for your help.

A battery switch should be on the positive side of the battery. Have you checked for loose connections?
    1997 Maxum 2400 SCR 5.7LX Bravo II

Mike

Comment

Originally posted by Nauti_Mike View Post
      A battery switch should be on the positive side of the battery. Have you checked for loose connections?
      agree, sounds like a bad negative, maybe the new switch is bad? Try temporarily bypassing the negative battery cable with some jumper cables to test.

Dave
      Edmonds, WA
      "THE FIX"
      '93 2556 5.7 Bravo II 2.0:1 18 1/4x19 P
      (.030 over-Vortec top end-part closed cooled)
      The rebuild of my 2556 https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...76?view=thread
      Misc. projects thread
      https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...56-gctid789773

Comment

Originally posted by builderdude View Post