Transom rebuilding

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Transom rebuilding

Just bought a 1988 Trophy 2160. I was told it was seaworthy. Hah, The transom is letting water in around the outdrive plates. I think it needs a new transom. Has any one done that on my model? Does the plywood run all the way across the transom or just where it appears to be flat ?
    Are there structural drawings available? Any info on procedure is greatly needed. I am a house builder so I have many tools to cut etc but boat rebuilding is new to me.
    Thanks you guys.

Runs all the way across the transom.
    what you got OMC 305 with Cobra OD?
    Joon, Kathy, Jaden & Tristan
    Uniflite 42 AC, DD 671N
    93 3058 sold
    92 2855 (day boat)
    91 Fourwinns 205 (lake boat)
    Longbranch WA
    Life is Good

Comment

If you replace the transom, do not use pressure treated plywood, buy marine plywood only.
      marine plywood will not have any voids in the core.
      Pat says: DO-IT-RIGHT THE FIRST TIME!

Bayliner 3870 "ALASKA33)
      Twin 350 GM power
      Located in Seward, AK
      Retired marine surveyor

Comment

Being a home builder you should have no problem rebuilding the transom
        My boat is a different model but there may be many similarities, take a peak at my thread for some ideas, and welcome to the club.
        Dave
        Edmonds, WA
        "THE FIX"
        '93 2556 5.7 Bravo II 2.0:1 18 1/4x19 P
        (.030 over-Vortec top end-part closed cooled)
        The rebuild of my 2556 https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...76?view=thread
        Misc. projects thread
        https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...56-gctid789773

Comment