Bayliner Element bad day-gctid810373

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bayliner Element bad day-gctid810373

I have a 2017 Bayliner Element 16' W/75hp motor, 68 hours. Was out on the water Sunday by myself and was running about 3/4 throttle when I felt the bolt hesitate then lost power immediately, turned around to look at the engine and seen it smoke, reached up and turned the key off but it took the engine about 4 seconds to shut off due to it sputtering. Then noticed oil leaking everywhere. I didnt even pull the cowl cover off it to look, Just had it towed in thank god i have Seatow and then dropped it off to the dealer to see what went wrong. 2 weeks before they get to it. So i will update you when i hear.

Any theories out there on it?

I have no experience with that boat or motor, or even whether that is a 2 or 4 stroke. In either case, it sure sounds bad. Maybe like you lost an oil line and seized, or weren't getting cooling water and overheated badly. The sputtering could be from oil getting into the hot chambers and continuing to diesel after shutoff. Let us know what the dealer says.
    88 Capri 2150 305 OMC
    91 and 93 Yamaha Waverunner III 650
    Cincinnati, OH

Comment

"montagc" post=810566 wrote:
      I have no experience with that boat or motor, or even whether that is a 2 or 4 stroke. In either case, it sure sounds bad. Maybe like you lost an oil line and seized, or weren't getting cooling water and overheated badly. The sputtering could be from oil getting into the hot chambers and continuing to diesel after shutoff. Let us know what the dealer says.
      Those are Four Strokes.

I agree, this is dealer time. Let them figure it out - that's what they do best.
      Matt Train
      BOC Site Team
      Chicagoland, IL

Comment

sorry dude. at least you have a warranty to fall back on, but that won't pay for your time and gas to and from dealer unfortunately. Keep us up dated....worm

Comment