Element Smart Tab Review-gctid738100

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Element Smart Tab Review-gctid738100

Hey folks, newbie here. I have a 2014 Element and have the Nauticus Smart Tabs to install, however I have seen someone on here say they cause the bow to go down in flowing seas. The boat is used in smaller lakes most of the time but it does see large open bays from time to time with near constant swell of 1m at a minumum. Im wondering if it will cause problems when on the open water or if the positives far outweigh the negatives.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Hi, I have a little bit of a different boat than what you have. Reading about sx tabs I bit and bought 40's. I installed them and this is my 2nd season with them. I was pleased the way they kept the bow down on hole shots (middle setting) . However I found at top end the boat tittered (not chine walk) and the control was questionable, also slowed the performance. So I backed off on the setting the by one hole. This seemed to stop the tittering but now the bow comes up(not all the way) on the hole shot, and top end is back to normal. For me I'm thinking I didn't need them. I didn't experience the bow digging into the water.http://www.baylinerownersclub.org/me...4-100_2044.jpg
    Jay Myers
    Raystown Lake Huntingdon PA
    2013 170 115fs
    2011 Jeep Compass

Comment

Welcome to the forum!!

You may have to play with the settings, to get it just right for open water. In your case a regular set of trim tabs may be a better option.
      Joel
      1987 3818 Hino 175
      "Knotty Girl"
      Prince Rupert B.C.

Comment

If you're talking about my post, I said "following seas." When waves are going in the same direction as your course. Backing off the smart tabs one hole seems to have corrected the problem.