Scupper hoses leak - limited visibility/access to replace

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Scupper hoses leak - limited visibility/access to replace

Does anyone have some innovative solutions to replace my leaking scupper hoses? Both the port and starboard scuppers (ping pong ball style) which are below the waterline are leaking on the inside of the transom. I can feel wetness and a 1 drop per second drip on the outside of the hoses at the thru hull fitting (on the inside of the transom well) but can't tell if the hose clamp isn't tight or the hose is cracked...it's from 1987 so I'm thinking the plastic hose is cracked.

My major issue is access. The outboard well has a ~8in circle access hole which is enough to visually inspect the bilge and get a hand in there. The hoses are not visible because I can't stick my fat head in the access hole. Any ideas on how to get two hands in there so I can hold a hose clamp with one hand and tighten it with the other?

It's a 1987 Bayliner Trophy 1910 CC

That’s the kind of thing I call on my grandsons for. The seventeen year old is getting pretty good around the boat but he’s going off to Basic Training the day after school gets out and will miss the first two days of his senior year. So, no help there. The nine year old is getting okay good so he’s the one I’d pick for the scupper hoses. Another successful tool for me has been my cell phone. I just start a video and move the camera around the area, then once I know where to place it, I’ll do another to mess around trying to fix it. For real small areas I got a colonoscopy camera, new, from amazon, that connects to my laptop and that works surprisingly well.
    Did I mention that I too hate little leaks like that?
    P/C Pete
    Edmonds Yacht Club (Commodore 1993)
    1988 3818 "GLAUBEN”
    Hino EH700 175 Onan MDKD Genset
    1980 Encounter Sunbridge "Misty Blue" (Sold)
    MMSI 367770440
    1972 Chevrolet Nova Frame off Resto-mod in the garage