Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Element E16 - Trim Tabs or motor hydrofoil

Hi,

I've had my boat for about a month now and the only thing bothering me is the porpoising. I can move my wife to the front of the boat and that helps some but that is not a viable long term solution. I looking for someone who has an E16 who has installed either the trim tabs or hydrofoil.

I'm looking for the best solution for this particular boat model. I have a 75hp hanging on the back. The boat is a 2019.

Thanking everyone in advance,

Paul
    2019 - Element e16
    The GOC
    (Grandparents On Call)

I use a hydrofoil and it solved the porpoising problem on my 2017 e16 with the feeble 60hp Mercury.
    Rip in Nevada
    2017 Element e16 SOLD

Comment

• muttfactor
      muttfactor commented
      Editing a comment
      I have same Hydrofoil and added 4-blade prop on 2018 e16 with the feeble 60hp and it made a world of difference.

I have no experience with the hydrofoil. I did read a lot online when I had the same question and nothing I ever found said the hydrofoils offered an improvement. For a little more money, I went with the Nauticus smart tabs on my E16. No more porpoising, I can trim the engine higher now, and the chop and wake from other boats are no longer an issue. I was very dissatisfied with the quality of the ride until I added the tabs. It is truey a different boat with them installed.

Comment

• nclexman
      nclexman commented
      Editing a comment
      I agree with everything Wilbajs said. I have a 75 horse and it gets up really fast even when loaded with people and no porpoising.

Hmmmmm.......2 - 2 as of now.

I appreciate the answers.
    2019 - Element e16
    The GOC
    (Grandparents On Call)

Comment

Originally posted by Wilbajs View Post