Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hey guys! New 3255 owner, I have some (probably silly and simple) questions...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hey guys! New 3255 owner, I have some (probably silly and simple) questions...

First off, I'm brand new here. Just bought a 1997 3255 Avanti 2 weeks ago. Absolutely in love with the boat so far as it's my first boat that's not just a pontoon. So I'm spending all of my time learning this boat and its systems, I'm brand new to a boat that is this complex (galley, air conditioning, full head, holding tanks, etc...)

So here is my unbelievably simple question that I cannot figure out. On the starboard side you have your 3 inlets for gas, waste, and water... then further aft on the actual side of the boat there is another water inlet for water. This one says "portable/city water only". What do I have 2 water inlets for? Which one supplies what? Is one for the head? And the "potable water" inlet just for the faucets?

Like i said, embarrassingly simple question. Reading the owners manual and parts guide I cant get a definitive answer.

Thanks guys! I'm sure this will just be the beginning of my silly questions as I try to navigate the waters of learning how to operate a cruiser!

Also, this vessel has dual 5.7L Mercruisers, it seems as if they like to leak gear fluid while underway that collects in the bilge. None of the oil goes to the outside of the boat. It all stays inside, I noticed that neither cap has an O-ring in it, and that the oil seems to be collecting in the transom area, but cant get a good view back there. From what I read this isnt very uncommon with these boats. Any tips for this?

One water may be to fill the fresh water tank and the other to connect a hose while tied to a pier. The first is just a opening with no hose fitting. My guess.