Marine Head Blockages

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Marine Head Blockages

Hi folks! Have a 2000 2455SB, my first boat with a head and it blocks up when my 6 year old takes a dump in it let alone an adult. It was fitted with an electric pump and macerator replacing the manual hand pump. I'm new to this game and the toilet itself and the piping all seems rather small. Is this a common issue that you just have to learn to live with or is there an alternative so I can remove the "toilet hazards" from my pre-sailing safety briefing...

Thank you! Mark - Captain and Chief poo technician

Paper is your enemy. On some yachts they say not to put anything down the toilet that hasn't been through your human waste system first....
    Seriously, small electric macerator pumps hate paper. One or max two sheets, and not 10 ply!
    A lifetime of racing everything from dinghies to world girdlers, but one of those lucky people who just love being afloat. So .... when the body doesn't work like before, it doesn't mean staying ashore.
    Blustery Day
    Bayliner 3288 Motoryacht, 1991.
    Twin Hino 150hp diesels.
    Purchased 23 February 2017

Comment

Thank you, yes we have a separate bin for paper. The challenge seems to that sometimes it takes a while to do the grinding, and at the same time it's filling with water (one button does both fill and pumpout) and the bowl gets to the point of overflow so I need to scoop out the water before doing more grinding... I've closed the intake seacock 3/4 to restrict the filling flow which has worked but isn't ideal.

Comment

We do a little, flush, repeat until the jo is complete. Next, as to tp, We buy the 2-ply Marine & RV stuff that cost about a buck more than the super cheap one ply that al works. I've also had salt buildup on the impeller and a shrimp clog the inlet.
        P/C Pete
        Edmonds Yacht Club (Commodore 1993)
        1988 3818 "GLAUBEN”
        Hino EH700 175 Onan MDKD Genset