Power Trim and Trim Tabs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Power Trim and Trim Tabs

So I have just gone down what seems to be a rabbit hole by trying to figure out the best way to use these in conjunction by watching you tube videos and reading online articles and figured what better way than to see how others use theirs. So I am new to boating with a fast boat that can plane, and I was under the impression that the boat will run fastest and most efficiently with the least amount of hull in contact with the water. So as I run I pull my trim tabs up after getting on plane, most of the time I don't need them to get onto plane and just adjust my power trim out to pull my hull out of the water a bit more. Now I have been reading and come across that a properly trimmed boat is keeping more hull in the water with the tabs and adjusting the engine trim, of course it's 1 o clock in the morning now so I can't go test it out. I run a 2003 245 with a 350MPI Repower and I usually cruise at around 26-28MPH at 3200rpm and 42mph at 4800rpm. I don't know if these speeds are slow for their rpm and if proper trimming could get me going faster. Have I been destroying my engine by overworking it poorly trimmed? I'd love to hear how others use their trim tabs and engine trim and the results they have found and what is considered the correct planing attitude?

I use drive trim for adjusting the hulls "attitude" in the water and use tab trim to adjust list mostly. Basically less trim tab = less drag but some larger more stern heavy boats will benefit from more aggressive trim tab to create additional lift in the ass end. I don't imagine your 245 being to ass end heavy.
    Your speed/rpm numbers sound great IMO.
    BTW don't run at WOT! It's just a test range to verify correct prop pitch etc.
    Dave
    Edmonds, WA
    "THE FIX"
    '93 2556 5.7 Bravo II 2.0:1 18 1/4x19 P
    (.030 over-Vortec top end-part closed cooled)