Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome to the Bayliner Owners Club forum!

We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot! Take a moment to tell the BOC members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.

• Page:

TOPIC: New to BOC with a 2014 Element Impressions

New to BOC with a 2014 Element Impressions 19 Apr 2016 01:49 #1

• seth6984
  • seth6984's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
I've been boating for about 6 years. I started off with a 21' Mariah I/O, then went to a Maxum18' I/O, then tried my hand at an ill-fated 24' pontoon boat. After fighting with used boats for 6 years I'm tired of dealing with other people's problems and disappointed kids when they don't run.

I have been looking at the Element since it was revealed for 2013. I finally pulled the trigger on a new left-over 2014 16' Element with all the options. I found it at a dealer about 3 hours away for $16k and couldn't resist any longer.

I wanted to get on the BOC for some information and a place to document some FAQs I've been reading and now have answers for.

Some things of note for people looking to buy the Element that I wish I would have known:
  • The ski tower on 2013 and 2014 models is not hinged and is ~7'6" depending on trailer pitch. Bayliner changed to a hinged ski tower on the 2015 model and forward. This bit me where the boat won't fit in any garage I have access to due to it's height.
  • The boat does not have snaps for a mooring cover. I ordered the Bayliner mooring cover but it isn't here yet. I suspect it just cinches around the rub-rail, but I don't plan to moor it often. I just need the cover for outdoor storage in the summer until i can get a car-port for it since it won't fit in my garage!
  • The total length of the boat on the trailer with the engine trimmed down and the trailer tongue swung back is 19'8".
  • The total width at the trailer fenders is 8'.