Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Engine Removal - 84' 2850 Contessa

Engine Removal - 84' 2850 Contessa 19 Jun 2009 12:36 #1

• stimie02
  • stimie02's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
I am in the process of repowering my boat and was hoping for a little advice. In the attached photos I have seperated the block from everything pertinent for removal including the motor mounts. My question is will I need to remove the outdrive in order to pull the engine or can I seperate it from the outdrive inside of the engine compartment. The first picture shows where I am talking about. The second and third shots just shows the engine compartment a little better and where I am talking about. Hope that makes sense. Any advice, suggestions, or comments would be appreciated as this is my first time working with an I/O. Thanks in advance.

Attached files [img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/311967=6732-Items to be sold 011.jpg [img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/311967=6730-Items to be sold 012.jpg [img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/311967=6731-Items to be sold 013.jpg

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Engine Removal - 84' 2850 Contessa 19 Jun 2009 13:27 #2

• Wingman
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
Now would be a good time to renew the PDS bearings and change the bellows, check the crosses, new water neck, shift cable and anything else that looks suspect. Are you repowering with the same eng? You don't have to pull the drive, just the trans. Search PDS bearings and you will find a ton of info here.

Wayne
'76, T1750 "Yellow Submarine"
AQ130D, 280
MMSI# 338091747
http://s301.photobucket.com/albums/nn79/wingmanx1/bayliner/
My flybridge restore
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=456072

Engine Removal - 84' 2850 Contessa 19 Jun 2009 14:15 #3

• 2850Bounty
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 1121
stimie02,