Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Best way to fix hairline cracks in deck

Best way to fix hairline cracks in deck 18 Jun 2009 12:39 #1

• jwilse
  • jwilse's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all .
I am new to BOC and have a 1987 bayliner trophy . There are afew small hairline cracks showing up in the deck . The deck is not soft at all yet and I would like to get after this before I have bigger problems to deal with .
Any input on best way to fix this would appreciated .
Thanks,
Jwilse

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Best way to fix hairline cracks in deck 18 Jun 2009 16:05 #2

• ishiboo
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 21
I am no expert on fiberglass/gel coat repair, however from what I've learned getting ready to have mine done it's best to grind out the crack making it "V" shaped, and then fill slightly higher than surrounding area. Toss some mold release on a piece of plastic and apply over the patch.

When it's all done you can take the plastic off and sand in progressively finer courses until it matches the rest of everything.

I had a professional boatbuilder quote me $350 for time/materials for filling about 10-15 small hairline cracks. While this seems like a lot of money to me it would take me at least 3 times longer than him, I'd pay a lot more for the raw materials and I'm a consultant so any time I spend working on labor-intensive tasks like sanding I could be working to pay someone else to do it :)

2005 Crownline 316 LS "The Lucille"

Best way to fix hairline cracks in deck 18 Jun 2009 16:17 #3

• whiskywizard
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Out exploring the waters of the Kawartha Lakes
  • Thank you received: 253
Ishiboo's advice above is right on. I saved a detailed description but can't recall the source. It had to be pretty credible or I wouldn't have saved it!

GELCOAT REPAIRS