Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1987 Bayliner Capri 2.3 OMC BIG PROBLEM HELP

1987 Bayliner Capri 2.3 OMC BIG PROBLEM HELP 17 Jun 2009 02:33 #1

• szuwar
  • szuwar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
First of all i would like to say HI to everyone on this forum, im new to boating and have been on this site since i purchased my first boat, somewhat a year ago and i think its the best forum out there as far as information goes and a number of people with really good expirience.Is i said im new to this and i have a big issue, I bought this boat a year ago with a cracked block,previous owner did not witerized it properly and cracked block,anyways i bough it thinking ill rebuld the engine , upholstery was ruined so basicly i ended up doing the whole boat,engine,interior,gauges seats etc. I bough a car engine at a scrab yard taken off the head had my block rebuild , original head from the boat rebuilt changed all gaskets ,sparks wires ,pointer, distr cup ,starter etc. After we started the engine it was running rough so i pulled the boat to the marina and had the mechanics to tune the engine change oils and change couple of seals and berings between the outboard and transom.Paid over 1000 dollars and got my boat back but it would stall as soon as i put it in wated and try to accelerate, i brought it back to marina and they said it would be the carb so they got it rebuilt and they took the boat on the water but the problem is still there, checked fuel pump ,even ran it on seperate fuel tank just to make sure and still same problem, marks are at 10 deg idles at 600-650 rpm perfect, on muffs revs and all is good ,as soon as it gets load it chokes and dies,they said when they move their marks to 16 deg advance timing it runs better but still stalls, im at the point where i spent over 6000 dollars on everything and my boat still dies when on load and try to accelerate, i would like anybody with some knowledge and expirience to maybe