TOPIC: Cobra stumbles in reverse

Cobra stumbles in reverse 06 Aug 2017 17:02 #1

• CptCrunchie
  • CptCrunchie's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 147
Moving away from the dock, forward works perfect. But when I shift it in reverse, it starts to stumble and shudder, even once it is fully in gear. This continues when I pull the throttle back to rev the engine. As I shift it back into neutral, the idle returns to normal.

What might be causing this, and Is this something I can easily adjust? Or should I be leaving it to my OMC mechanic to fix/solve?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
MMSI: 367637220
HAM: KE7TTR
TDI tech diver
BoD, North Olympic Peninsula Puget Sound Anglers, Sequim, WA
Kevin

Cobra stumbles in reverse 06 Aug 2017 17:26 #2

• Ruffryder
  • Thank you received: 1418
ESA activating sticking when shifted in reverse or over stroke switch not working cancelling it...
See if the roller on the lever is not centering itself in the "W" when you shift into reverse.
The following user(s) said Thank You: CptCrunchie

Joon, Kathy, Jaden & Tristan
93 3058
92 2855
91 Fourwinns 205
Longbranch WA
Life is Good
Last Edit: by Ruffryder.

Cobra stumbles in reverse 06 Aug 2017 18:08 #3

• Norton Rider
  • Away
  • Thank you received: 606

Ruffryder wrote: ESA activating sticking when shifted in reverse or overtake switch not working cancelling it...
See if the roller on the lever is not centering itself in the "W" when you shift into reverse.

+1

Also check to see if the microswitch is sticking.