Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Bottom paint vs diver cleaning?

Bottom paint vs diver cleaning? 23 Sep 2007 14:50 #1

• BobL
  • BobL's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi,
What are the consequences of having a diver clean your bottom vs. having the boat bottom painted? Can a problem develop am I better off to go ahead and have her hauled and painted?
I have been using a diver on a regular basis for the past six months. He has cleaned the bottom and replaced zincs. He tells me the boat is due for painting. The bottom was treated with an epoxy barrier coat by the former owner and then had two coats of ablative two years ago. First sign of bottom growth was slower speed vs rpms then it became obvious as stuff growing on the bottom could be seen. Cleaning restored speed.
Bob
'87 3818
St. Marys, GA

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bottom paint vs diver cleaning? 23 Sep 2007 16:10 #2

• ChancesAre
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
on the painted bottom, the paint is worn out and needs to be replaced. Even in the much colder water here, I'd have to have the bottom cleaned probably weekly during summer if the bottom were unpainted. I do use a diver to change my zincs since it is cheaper than a haulout and I have him stab at cleaning the drives, but I still have to haul it out at least twice a year to powerwash and acid scrub the drives and tabs to control the barnacles. I've never found an effective anti-fouling paint for the drives and tabs now that all the good ones have been outlawed - used my last "outlaw" paint a couple of seasons ago.

In your warm water, I just don't see how you could keep up with keeping the bottom clean with no or worn out bottom paint.

Bottom paint vs diver cleaning? 23 Sep 2007 18:56 #3

• Kuredu
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
You want to keep the critters away from your hull at all costs. Once a barnacle get's it's hold on the gelcoat you have bigger problems and may end up with blisters or worse.