Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Smartcraft display for new engine

Smartcraft display for new engine 10 Jan 2010 15:15 #1

  • ksanders
  • ksanders's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 3341
  • Thank you received: 237
With our new 496 engine in the 2859 we have the ability to go to a smartcraft system for displaying engine data.

The question here is just how should I go about this.

For example could I get a single display panel that would have all of my engine functions displayed? If so who makes such a panel?

Right now we have a furuno navnet VX2 nav system with two 10" displays. Could I add an additional furuno display and have a smartcraft page on it?

Interesting...What do you think?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KEVIN SANDERS
4788 LISAS WAY
SEWARD, ALASKA
www.mvlisasway.com

Smartcraft display for new engine 10 Jan 2010 16:45 #2

  • Brutus
  • Brutus's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 599
  • Thank you received: 0
Options,

1) Buy a Vessel View display from Mercury Marine.

http://mercurymarine.com/precisionrigging/smartcraft/smartcraftataglance/components/information_display.php

2) I do not beleive that you can directly interface your GPS to smartcraft This can only be done with Navman and Northstar GPS model via a Smartcraft Gateway.

You could Purchase MerMonitor/s and use the NMEA 2000 Gateway functionaility to push NMEA engine Data to your Furuno. Your Furuno would need to be NMEA 2000 compatible and understand the Data being presented. It would not be Smartcraft data but NMEA 2000 engine data.

http://mercurymarine.com/_media/pdfs/smartcraft/components/NMEA-Gateway-sell-sheet.pdf

Hope this helps

Brian

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Scarborough"
Bayliner 305 - 2005
Twin 5.7L 350 MAG MPI Horizon
Kohler 6KW Genset
Navman 4KW Digital Radar
Navman 8084 GPS MFDs x 3
Northstar Autopilot Dual Head
Interphase 180 Forward Sonar
Webasto Aircon
S&K 100 LPH Watermaker
Intellian 45cm Satellite Receiver
FLIR Navigator II Pan Tilt Thermal...

Smartcraft display for new engine 10 Jan 2010 16:47 #3

  • Go Aweigh2452
  • Go Aweigh2452's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Olalla, WA
  • Posts: 8013
  • Thank you received: 534
As Brian stated, you need a gateway for your situation. You can find smartcraft/vesselview monitors on ebay at great prices...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Doug ;}
MMSI: 338068776
"Go Aweigh to" Photos < click on red letters... 2001 Bayliner 2452 w/6.2 HO (paid for)


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Smartcraft display for new engine 10 Jan 2010 22:24 #4

  • kennyh
  • kennyh's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 64
  • Thank you received: 0
I fitted a Northstar 567 GPS/Chartplotter ( http://www.northstarnav.com/Products/Chartplotters/Explorer-567/ ) with integrated Smartcraft data display and fuel computer to my 2009 245. -

It works a treat, showing RPM, Fuel flow, Fuel Level, Range, Temperature, Voltage etc.

To connect the engine (5.0 MPI) to the Northstar I required a Mercury harness cable and a Smartcraft single engine gateway. ( http://www.northstarnav.com/Products/Fuel-Management/SmartCraft/ )

Getting good quality info on how to do it is hard to come by, but there is some good info on this site to help.

Cheers
Kenny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Smartcraft display for new engine 10 Jan 2010 23:57 #5

  • ksanders
  • ksanders's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 3341
  • Thank you received: 237
Thanks very much guys

Has anybody used the mercmonitor unit?

It looks like it will fit in the speedometer hole (which I don't use anyway).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KEVIN SANDERS
4788 LISAS WAY
SEWARD, ALASKA
www.mvlisasway.com

Smartcraft display for new engine 11 Jan 2010 01:46 #6

  • Brutus
  • Brutus's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 599
  • Thank you received: 0
It will fit in the speedo hole

I have 2 of the earlier models without the gateway function.

They provide all the engine data you will need + some extras. Not sure of the availabilty of the new 2010 gateway models.

Brian

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Scarborough"
Bayliner 305 - 2005
Twin 5.7L 350 MAG MPI Horizon
Kohler 6KW Genset
Navman 4KW Digital Radar
Navman 8084 GPS MFDs x 3
Northstar Autopilot Dual Head
Interphase 180 Forward Sonar
Webasto Aircon
S&K 100 LPH Watermaker
Intellian 45cm Satellite Receiver
FLIR Navigator II Pan Tilt Thermal...

Smartcraft display for new engine 11 Jan 2010 13:10 #7

  • Roel Jansen
  • Roel Jansen's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 786
  • Thank you received: 0
A straight installation as a NortStar/Navman unit if they are SmartCraft ready is technically spoken a very easy installation. Most "problems" they had was finding the best ways to lead the wires from the engine to the dash and the cutting through the dash. The take over of Navman didn't make it easier as the old dealer isn't very cooperative over here. At the end of the Month I will go a couple of times to Dusseldorf to what is claimed to be the biggest boat show in the world and I will try to get in contact with some of the suppliers there. Our goal is to use the flotters, that are used in the gas tank of the newer Bayliners for the fresh and grey water tanks. According the sales guy what can be delivered by NorthStar is the old style and is junk. :(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Roel Jansen
Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Te Rapunga
Bayliner 340 2006

Again not made friends, but you can kill the messenger but not the message!
Remember that our Nation was sailing the seas long before yours was even discovered! ;)
BOC member since 1998
[url]...
  • Page:
  • 1
Moderators: JeffwAlaskanmutt
Time to create page: 0.089 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum