Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1986 Bayliner 185 remod

1986 Bayliner 185 remod 16 May 2009 16:01 #1

• mobilus
  • mobilus's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Well, this is my first attempt at documenting something like this...so here goes.

A bought this bought this boat, my first, about seven years ago. It was kind of a spontaneous decision to buy it, and I spent $3700 for the boat and EZ-Loader trailer. I love that trailer, but more on that later.

My decision to buy used, rather than new, was based on the fact that I was a novice in anything other than jon boats. Figured if I screwed anything up, it'd not be a $25K boat.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

The following picture is of my dad holding the boat...he hates the water, doesn't trust life jackets, etc. But he went out with us one time.

Just a side shot I thought looked cool.

Disgruntled teenagers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1986 Bayliner 185 remod 16 May 2009 16:44 #2

• itsabowtime2
  • Thank you received: 354
The hull looks great in the first photo.

So what are the plans for her?

Phil, Vicky, Ashleigh & Sydney
1998 3055 Ciera
(yes, a 1998)
Previous boat: 1993 3055
Dream boat: 70' Azimut or Astondoa 72
Sea Doo XP
Sea Doo GTI SE
Life is short. Boats are cool.
The family that plays together stays together.
Vice Commodore: Bellevue Yacht Club

1986 Bayliner 185 remod 16 May 2009 17:03 #3

• mobilus
But I fell for the old girl, and when some advice I got on winterizing the boat caused a cracked block, I rebuilt a four bolt main Chevy 350 (5.7 L) to repower her. It was a good excuse to get rid of the 305 (5.0 L) that she had from the factory.

If you ever see the caramel color in oil (as in the picture), you know bad times are upon you.

I traded a junker car that I'd been given for that new core motor...