Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 2050 Swim platform build

2050 Swim platform build 20 Aug 2013 17:19 #1

• bayliner2050
  • bayliner2050's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
This wasn't complete so I hope this is the correct place to post.I decided to build my own platform 1. after pricing a new one 2. after not liking how high the bought ones are placed. I have a friend with a moomba and really like that his platform was in the water all the time, either just level or just below at all times, no ladder needed. After doing a lot of searching form platforms on bayliners I really didn't find what I was looking for but got some good ideas. I built my own brackets out of 2" angle iron and the top main braces out of 1.5" square tubing. The cross brasses are 3/4" conduit. I am still going to add to outside brackets and brasses but thought I would post the current progress. I used 2 sheets of 1/2" ply for the main area and then striped 1/2" ply around the perimeter for added thickness (mainly for looks but it will add some strength. I will glass 2 layers of 6oz mat with epoxy on top and bottom to add to the stiffness of the platform and I am going to paint the edging white and it will have a black soft pad glued to the top.How I decided on the placement was me and my son took the boat out and while tied off and neither of us in the waterline sat about 3" below the cut out in the center. With both of us sitting on the built in platform the waterline was about a 1/2" below that same point. I figure that we usually have a cooler and plan to add some ballast, so depending on where it's placed in the boat the platform should be where I want it and we should all be able to get back in the boat if we all go for a swim. I took a sharpie with us and marked to places on the side of the boat to give me a waterline reference to know how high to tilt the platform so that it was close to level with the water. I ended up making the end of it 1"