Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: With a whole spoon of salt, not just a grain

With a whole spoon of salt, not just a grain 29 Oct 2014 13:04 #1

• Jack3M
  • Jack3M's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 9
This is going to be difficult to get my point across without being specific about any one member(s).

I was a professional auto mechanic for15 years back in the days before fuel injection and electronic ignition was just coming into vogue when I left that profession and became a Paramedic for another 10 years until I got disabled on a call. My whole life has been a diagnostic sort of episode. I have learned to look for the most simple thing and rule that out, move on and rule out the next thing, and so on.

Of course a person can get so good just a description is enough to KNOW what is wrong right up front. This has held through on my two main professions. Figure out what it is not, which leaves what it could be, hopefully one or two things that may take further investigation to fully determine what is going on.

But this section of the forum has some folks that shotgun post answers, any of which could be right or wrong. Posting just to look important or to look like one knows everything is really more detrimental to the forum than help. Most folks that come to this section are not mechanics at all and believe everything and anything they are told.

Whoa folks, hold on....get that spoon of salt and chillllll. Some advice as I look back in old posts is downright dangerous and could elicit amputation of the head from the body among others. And the posts that are 'it is definitely this, but check the left and oh it could be the right, so look in the manual to see' kind of garbage.