Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Columbia River

Columbia River 18 May 2009 05:09 #1

• rafaelfigueira
  • rafaelfigueira's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 103
Launched on the Oregon side at M James Park on Saturday at 9am. The parking lot was 10% full only, one guy on the ramp. Launch was straightforward, no problems. Yes I'm a beginner, so this is a big deal.

Fired up the engine, took off up river. At Government Island, beached in to meet friends already there for camping. Set up camp, laying on the beach, enjoying the sun, great day. Some boat rides here and there just for fun, evening around camp fire.

On Saturday afternoon returned to M James Park to pick up more people. Ramp was crowded, total mayhem. While waiting on the docks, enjoyed some interesting moments as we watched people launching and retrieving.

Funny how people are so anxious and just cant wait. Ramp has four unmarked lanes, meaning you can fit four trailers, but it doesnt mean you should put four boats side-by-side at the same time. One big 22 or 26 footer called "Dont Panic, Bend OR" (written upside down) tried a few times to hit his trailer while dangerously getting too close to the two neighboring launching boats. If only he waited 5 minutes, he would have three lanes just for him.

Sunday, packed up, time to go. Boat doesnt start. Runs and runs but doesnt pick up. Tried about 8 or 10 times, then battery dies. Friend has a batter powered jump-starter, doesnt work either. Wait about 15 minutes, tried again, and it fires up. I think I flooded it the first time. Havent had non-EI engines in many years, I still need to get a feeling of this again. Mental note: get a jump-starter.