Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Need prop recommendation for Element

Need prop recommendation for Element 19 Jul 2016 03:22 #1

• freeformed
  • freeformed's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
I am replacing a damaged prop on my 2013 60hp Mercury Big Foot.

I've tried finding out the best prop based on a couple other threads but I am not confident I've identified the replacement.

I believe I want to put a 4 Blade Spitfire on, and found this: Mercury Spitfire 4-Blade Aluminum Pontoon Propeller Prop 13.8 x 11P

smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EA5FZ4M/r...01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Is that the correct size and desired pitch? I am looking more for acceleration and getting it to plane when pulling a tube with a few kids on it. Top speed isn't a terrible concern for me. Is stainless steel preferred over aluminum?

Thanks for all the help, I'm somewhat new at owning a boat, but not being on a boat. I'm finding out it's a whole 'nother ball game.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last Edit: by freeformed.

Need prop recommendation for Element 19 Jul 2016 19:59 #2

• michieas
  • Thank you received: 2
I would advise you to take the 13.8x13 spitfire. Better hole shot but you keep a better top speed. From what I read on the forum here you will lose 4mph with the 11p.
I have the 13 with smart tabs and that works perfect (if my engine is not failing....)

Need prop recommendation for Element 28 Jul 2016 19:03 #3

• Pichy
  • Thank you received: 1
I went with a Nemesis 13.8 x 11P, and absolutely love it. Made a huge difference. Next I will install smart tabs to deal with porpoising. This is my brief write up from a different thread last year (search for "Element Spare Prop" from July 30, 2015) when I posted the same question you did: